I admit it is disgusting. My allergies keep me up all night and my already distinguishable dark circles are hard to cover up. My eyes are a literal bloodshot red, swollen from the tears and rubbing. My sneezes come in a rapid count of 20 and allergy medication makes me look like a regular druggie. But after years of suffering, I have compiled a list of tips that ease the symptoms until my next blissful moment of forgetfulness sets in.

1. Wear Sunglasses/Glasses

I’ll start off with an easy one. Be shady and wear your sunglasses! As I described earlier, my eyes are extremely sensitive during allergy season. Allergens are tiny, devil particles that irritate your eyes upon contact. Wear sunglasses or glasses to shield your eyes from direct contact with these specks from hell.

2. Use Eye Drops

Still continuing with the eye theme, use and carry eye drops with you to wash out allergens from your eyes. A few drops can provide instant relief and can keep you from rubbing your eyes, which is a huge NO unless you enjoy dark circles.

3. Try Not to Wear Eye Makeup

For a makeup lover such as myself, this is a hard tip to adjust to. If you’re like me when it comes to smudgy makeup during allergy season, try to avoid wearing it. Your eyes will thank you! I don’t like waterproof mascara, or eyeliner, as it is stiff and difficult to take off, but feel free to wear it if it makes you happy.

4. It’s OK to Sneeze

When I was in school, I would hate sneezing during class, especially in my smaller discussion courses where they’d interrupt the professor. I’d try to control the sneeze which would lead to a mind-numbing round of sneezes and it made the problem worse. In situations such as these, try excusing yourself to the hallway and letting the sneeze out properly. Your body is attempting to eject the allergens from inside, don’t fight it!

5. Take Medicine (Of Course!)

I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I strongly dislike taking medicine unless it is absolutely necessary. Allergy season is sadly one of those times I have to take medicine. If you’re constantly driving like me, invest in a non-drowsy formula such as Zyrtec. I’ll only take Benadryl on weekend nights when I know I’ll be sleeping in. As always, consult a doctor before taking any medication.

6. Invest in An Air Purifier

This is one of those pricey but TOTALLY worth-it tips. An air purifier is a huge investment but it has the potential to change your life. One with the correct filter can catch allergens in the air before they get to you. An air purifier is designed to filter up to 99.97% of common allergens like dust, animal dander and pollen, so they can’t get into your body and cause an allergic reaction, according to Air Purifiers America.

7. Be Prepared

Even with the right medicine and precautions, allergies can get the best of us. Be prepared with tissues, hand sanitizer, and any other items that bring you comfort during your bad days. I always keep a pair of tissues in my purse or in the car. It’s best to be prepared than to be caught off guard by a sudden allergy attack. Have any allergy tips you swear by? Share them in the comments below!